Here Goes Nothing

I’m diving in. Last night I binged on my last pack of cookies for dinner. I’m scared, but also slightly desperate & pretty damn excited. I want this to work. I want to feel free of my obsession with food & in control of my urges to binge. I also want to feel like I’m finally on the path to get to my goal weight– 175 pounds.

So, here’s the plan:

  • Breakfast: Soylent (400 calories)
  • Lunch: Plant Based Whole Foods Meal (~500-600 calories)
  • Dinner: Soylent (400 calories)
  • Snacks: Piece of Fruit (~100-150 calories)

Oh, just so you know: I’m 5’11”, and the last time I weighed myself I was 231 pounds.

I’ll get more into the nitty-gritty of my plan in future posts, but for now I just wanted to give an overview of my plan.

And now……. THE TASTE TEST!!!

I ordered a case of the Original 2.0 Soylent (the pre-mixed liquid version) off of Amazon.com. I chilled mine since I heard it tastes better cold. I’m trying this one out before I leave for work (just in case I don’t like the flavor I can doctor it up with something in my kitchen). Here’s my review of Soylent Original 2.0:

  • Appearance: Looks like almond milk
  • Smell: Smells, pretty much, like almond milk
  • Taste: The milk from a bowl of cheerios. Slightly sweet and wheaty
  • Texture: Super smooth and silky

Holy shit. I think I can actually do this! I’m still going to mix things in to jazz it up, but I can totally drink this on its own! YAAAAASSSSSSSS!!

I added a touch of nutmeg, cinnamon & probably a teaspoon of maple syrup. Tastes like Cinnamon Toast Crunch 🙂

……

Finished my first bottle! Soylent tends to land pretty heavily in my stomach. Its definitely not something I can just chug. I took a digestive enzyme supplement to help ease my stomach. Not sure if its the Soylent, life/work stress, or the cookies from last night giving me issues– nothing major, just some gurgling.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

